About Us

The Chicago Political Economy Group’s mission is to provide research, writing and speaking to advance the goal of economic and social justice. We are labor and community activists, academics, and others interested in political economic analysis and related progressive policies.

We believe that deep structural problems in both the U.S. and larger global economy have led to the current crises and enduring oppression linked to such factors as class, race, gender, ethnicity, and immigration status, which cannot be resolved by reforms relying on private sector activity. Further, the subordination of U.S. national interests to the profit concerns of the corporate and financial sector has led us to a policy which relies on military domination and repression of weaker nations.

We seek to study, understand, and promote ideas and policies that will revive the U.S. economy and make the U.S. and world economies more just, democratic, and sustainable. Fundamental to our vision is a large scale living wage federal jobs program which could be financed through a tax on financial speculation. We welcome opportunities to collaborate with others.


Group Members

Yasir Abu Zayd | yabuzayd@cpegonline.org

Yasir Abu Zayd is a graduate student in economics at Roosevelt University and a research intern at the Center for Budget and Tax Accountability (CTBA).

Ron Baiman | rbaiman@cpegonline.org

Ron Baiman is an Assistant Professor of Economics in the Graduate Business Administration program at Benedictine University in Lisle, IL. He is also a long-time member of the Editorial Board of the Review of Radical Political Economics.

Benjamin Balthaser | bbalthaser@cpegonline.org

Benjamin Balthaser is assistant professor of Multi-Ethnic U.S. Literature at Indiana University, South Bend. His research interests include transnational social movements, global modernism, and comparative ethnic studies. His forthcoming book, Anti-Imperialist Modernism: Race and Transnational Radical Culture from the Great Depression to the Cold War, is due to appear from the University of Michigan Press in 2015.

Bill Barclay | bbarclay@cpegonline.org

Bill Barclay worked for 22 years in financial services before retiring in 2004. Since then he has been active in the Oak Park Coalition for Truth and Justice and Democratic Socialists of America.

Luis Diaz-Perez | ldiaz-perez@cpegonline.org

Luis Diaz-Perez is a Chicago writer interested in social justice and Latin American affairs.

Sidney Hollander | shollander@cpegonline.org

Sidney Hollander is a former employee of the Chicago Department of Human Services who worked on legislative issues and lives in Chicago.

Haydar Kurban | hkurban@cpegonline.org

Haydar Kurban is an Associate Professor of Economics at Howard University in Washington, D.C.

Ursula Mlynarek | umlynarek@cpegonline.org

Ursula Mlynarek is a graduate student at Roosevelt University in the Economics Department.

Bruce Parry | bparry@cpegonline.org

Bruce Parry is a researcher and former Professor of Economics at the University of Baltimore. His research focuses on the effects of technological change on the labor force and organization of capitalism. He is a long time social activist in the veterans movement, the peace movement and the movement for social justice. He is a member of the Justice Party of Illinois.

Joe Persky | jpersky@cpegonline.org

Joe Persky is a Professor of Economics at the University of Illinois in Chicago. He also serves as President of the UIC Faculty Union; UIC United Faculty Local 6456 AFT-IFT, AAUP.

Sharon Post | spost@cpegonline.org

Sharon Post is the Research Director at SEIU Healthcare Illinois/Indiana.

Elce Redmond | eredmond@cpegonline.org

Elce Redmond is a community organizer and political trainer who has worked with non-governmental organizations and labor unions in the United States and around the world. He also serves on the National Board of Jobs with Justice.

Sam Rosenberg | srosenberg@cpegonline.org

Sam Rosenberg is a Professor of Economics and the Associate Provost and Director of the Honors Program at Roosevelt University in Chicago. He is also a member of the Editorial Board of the International Review of Applied Economics.

Mel Rothenberg | mrothenberg@cpegonline.org

Mel Rothenberg is a Professor Emeritus of Mathematics at University of Chicago, a longtime social activist, and a writer on a variety of issues, many related to the construction of socialism.

Dee Wernette | dwernette@cpegonline.org

Dee Wernette is retired from two positions: Sociologist/Demographer, Argonne National Laboratory, 1979-2001, and Professor of Sociology, Lewis University, 1981-2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *